My most recommended KS2 book…

The Firework-Maker's Daughter

The Firework-Maker’s Daughter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Firework Maker’s Daughter by Philip Pullman has to be my most recommended book in the schools I work with – and I don’t apologise!  I could probably fit it to any given unit!  Historical story? Tick. Adventure Story? Tick. Strong female main character? Tick.  Multi-cultural story?  Tick.  Story with issues and dilemmas?  Tick.  Story by a significant author?  Tick.  Persusive adverts?  Tick.  Newspaper reports?  Tick.  Voyage and return story?  Tick.

To read more of this post please visit our NEW WEBSITE

Charlotte Reed – Primary English Consultant

3 thoughts on “My most recommended KS2 book…

  1. I am looking for a book that I read to my class when I first started teaching called “jump”, from memory. Based in a small village near a large hill on the Yorkshire moors, a young girl who is looked after by her aunt and uncle gas to deliver milk. One place she hates to go is the old woman’s house on top of the hill in the cold, the quick way is to climb the cliff. One day she encounters a mole that speaks to her and had bitten of one of her families fingers. Their job is to dig tunnels so when the sleeping giants turn it does not cause an earthquake. But there is going to be a large turn in a number of days that the moles can’t cope and to avoid destroying the world everyone needs to jump at the same time. The race is on to get the world to take notice.

    Any idea of the author? Or title , though I am sure it is jump.

Leave a Reply

