The Summer of Reading by Ben Broome Aged 6

I first started reading my books when I got George’s Marvellous Medicine. My Mummy bought it for me. This is when I got into the rhythm of reading. What I mean about rhythm is how I got reading the thicker books. The first books that I got were written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake. Here are a list of the Roald Dahl books that I have enjoyed:

  • Danny The Champion of the world
  • Matilda
  • The Magic Finger
  • The BFG
  • The witches

I thought Danny the Champion of the world was quite shocking because Danny only found out that his dad was a poacher when he woke up in the night and his dad wasn’t there. I liked the setting of the story because the characters lived in a caravan and I thought it was really good how the caravan was described.

Both me and my mummy liked Matilda because we also liked the way the writer described the little cottage that one of the characters lived in.

I like the Magic Finger because there is a really funny bit involving ducks and people, but I won’t give the story away in case you want to read it.

This summer I have also read other books not by Roald Dahl. I have read Mr Stink by David Walliams, Mr Gum (You’re a bad man Mr Gum) by Andy Stanton. Mr Stink had a sad ending but it was a happy book at the start and in the middle. I liked this book. I liked Mr Gum because there was a funny bit at the end which I won’t give away in case you want to read it.

At the minute I am reading Gangsta Granny by David Walliams. So far I think the book is really good. Actually I think when I have finished it, it will be my favourite. It has a really good story.

Ben Broome aged 6 (Year 2 in September)

Ben goes to school in Leeds and is team member Charlotte’s nephew, this review is all his own work.

6 thoughts on “The Summer of Reading by Ben Broome Aged 6

  1. Wow Ben! Really good reading and really good choice of books too. Danny the Champion of the World is my favourite Roald Dahl book. Have you read Roald Dahl’s Revolting Rhymes? They’re a bit gruesome but they’re so funny and easy to learn off by heart too.

  2. I am very, very impressed with your book reviews Ben, I have sent you another Mr Gum book in the post to read when you get back from holidays to say thank you for doing a guest blog for us. Matilda is one of my favourite books too, I might have to borrow Gangsta Granny off you!
    Well done from Auntie Charlotte (who you have made feel very proud!)

  3. It’s lovely that you have a favourite author Ben. I love Roald Dahl too and my favourite is ‘The `Magic Finger’. I think Mr Dahl was very clever to think up stories that bounce back on the villains. He was amazing.
    I hope you continue to love reading as you grow up.
    Perhaps you will write another blog when you find a new favourite writer.
    Happy reading
    x

  4. This is really interesting blog Ben. I’d forgotten how much I loved the Magic Finger. You’be inspired me to read it again. I’ve never read Gangster Granny but it sounds great. Thank you

  5. Pingback: What a difference a Dahl makes | lovetoreadtomyclass

Leave a Reply

