Reading with Dad

Our guest blogger this week is Ed Carter, Senior Advisor for Primary Schools in Coventry. He ruminates on how special it is to pass the love of books and reading on to children.

I was wandering through Waterstone’s the other day, and came across “The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher” by Beatrix Potter. Turning the pages and looking at those simple illustrations immediately transported me back over 50 years to a time when I can vividly remember seeing those pictures and hearing the story on my dad’s knee as a bedtime story. The words flooded back as I read them and I was amazed how I knew what was on the next page before even turning! The memory of familiar warmth, security and enjoyment came flooding back over me. On reflection it must have helped to shape my lifelong love of books, stories and the spoken word.

So much so that, as a dad myself many years later, I was able to recapture those magic moments with my own sons. Not with Jeremy Fisher, but Rumpelstiltskin, Rapunzel, Not Now Bernard, Burglar Bill, Fireman Sam and Captain Pugwash – all great opportunities to create and invent accents, intonation, emphasis, all attributes of memorable story telling that entertained me as well as my boys – and who is to say who enjoyed them most?

Which books are your great ‘Dad’s books’?

Ed Carter, Senior Adviser Birth-11, Coventry

Aah, the joy of being read to! More suggestions for what Dads could read to young children can be found at love2read, and the Leicestershire libraries website.

2 thoughts on “Reading with Dad

  1. I also like to have a stab at interesting accents and intonations in the name of entertaining a young book lover. Being no actress, my character accents sometimes morph into unrecognisable variations over the course of the book… but that’s always good for a giggle as well.

  2. Pingback: Good books to read aloud | lovetoreadtomyclass

Leave a Reply

