Adventures in Kindle

So it was the summer of kindle for me, off I went, Alaska bound with limited packing space and my shiny new kindle.  Still suspicious, I started to read, ok, it looks good, I can see it well, I can change the size of font for my tired eyes, however it took me about 20 pages before I stopped trying to turn the page in the top right hand corner!  Luckily my kindle touch responded!  The first few books I read seemed to finish abruptly and I still don’t like that I can’t flick to see how many pages until the chapter is over, but I am getting used to it.

I have read all manner of things on my kindle in all sorts of places, in Canada and Alaska on planes, trains, coaches and cruise ships, in Bahrain on beaches and on my iPhone while waiting for a concert to start or in the car, the benefit of the kindle is that I have a record of what I have read so here are my top picks from the last few months.

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani
Now I am a self confessed Adriana Trigiani fan, I buy her books in hard back and have them all on pre-order.  Why?  I don’t know, I love a good romance, she writes a lot about food, delicious Italian food and her books always transport me away from the every day.  I wasn’t disappointed with her latest.  A great story of migration and starting over of smashing down the boundaries and coming up smelling of roses with love and heartache along the way and an enduring friendship.  Booker prize it isn’t, but an enjoyable read it is!

The Little Village School by Gervase Phinn
A busman’s holiday if you like, now, you know I like shoes so this had me gripped from the first paragraph.

“She was wearing red shoes!” gasped the caretaker, incomprehension creeping across his face.
“With silver heels,” added the school secretary, nodding and pursing her lips.
“With silver heels?” the caretaker repeated.
“That’s what I said, Mr Gribbon.  She was wearing red shoes with silver heels and black lacy stockings.  Not the sort of outfit I would have thought suitable for a head teacher’s position”

I don’t need to say much more, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Netherwood by Jane Sanderson
As recommended by team-mate Jo Upton (well her sister actually) in her Summer Challenge blog post.  This book took me a little while to get into as the Yorkshire dialect was tricky at first but as I have a Yorkshire man at home I soon found my feet!!  This is a great upstairs downstairs tale of rags to riches and the ups and downs of a Yorkshire mining town at the turn of the century.  If you love Downton, I think you will love this.

Eat That Frog by Brian Tracy
As recommended by team-mate Rachel in her blog about getting ready to come back to work in September.  This came at a particularly busy time for me and so reading it was incredibly helpful.  It is self-help, but it is sensible, just enough detail help, that you can easily use.  I am now regularly eating frogs and prioritising jobs, I will come back to this book again and again.  And I read it in a fairly lovely setting!

And last but not least A is for Angelica by Iain Broome, which I won’t talk about, follow this link instead to my blog post about the book.

And what’s next?
Well at the moment I am in the middle of Debutantes by Cora Harrison, this is a young adult novel and if you liked Ballet Shoes as child you may like this!  I’m certainly enjoying it.  After that, I have Ravenscliffe by Jane Sanderson lined up, the sequel to Netherwood.

Charlotte Reed – Primary English Consultant (and not quite but nearly Kindle convert)

One thought on “Adventures in Kindle

Leave a Reply

