Bad girls’ book group

It’s all about the resolutions….

In last week’s blogpost Julia explored sad endings in children’s books, and resolved to continue sharing them in school. This week team member Jo admits to slightly bad reading behaviour, and resolves to improve matters.

It’s a well known fact in our book group that one member “has read the blurb of all the books we’re supposed to have read”.  My book group, a well-established coven of fabulous ladies with fabulous stories to share, has been meeting monthly for the best part of ten years.  The idea is that, just like other book groups, we’re all meant to read the same book then meet to discuss it.

Confession time.  We’re not like other book groups.

We only discuss a book every other month so everyone has time to read them (in between we have “book swap” night).  We eat more food than discuss books.  We drink more wine than discuss books.  We talk far too much about things other than books.  Actually, seldom has everyone read the book.

We are officially a bad girls’ book group.

However, for 2013, we’ve made a New Years’ Resolution.  We’re all going to read all the books.  The dates have been set.  The first three books have even been selected.  It’s serious!

January sees us exploring The Children’s Book by A S Byatt, a Booker-shortlisted byattnarrative that follows the adventures of several inter-related families from the end of the 19th century through World War 1.  It is loosely based on the life of children’s writer E Nesbit and sounds seriously intriguing.  The opening chapters have me gripped already with quality description and myriad bizarre characters. Will I get it finished by mid January?  No choice.  I’ve promised.

March’s choice is The Potter’s Field by Andrea Camilleri.  Our first pottergroup toe in the murky water of crime fiction and, allegedly, “nice crime” if such a thing exists.  It looks short (which always pleases me), and is part of the highly popular Inspector Montalbano series.  On a dreadful morning, a body cut into pieces and wrapped in a plastic bag is found in a clay deposit.  All the signs point to an old-fashioned mafia style execution.  Not in the slightest the sort of book I would ordinarily choose to read.  Will I?  Of course.  I’ve promised.

For May, it’s Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier.  Never having read one of her novels before (and often finding myself wondering why that is), I’m really excited by this selection.  It’s the story of Mary Anning, a lady whose penchant for finding fossils leads to creaturesnew ways of thinking about the creation of the world.  It would appear to be my sort of read – strong women, conventions cracking, bit of a historical context.  I’m looking forward to it already.  Will I read it?  For sure.  I’ve promised.

So, the gauntlet is thrown down – three reads in six months!  I think we might do it.  Though I have a funny feeling I’ve heard the book group resolution before…

So who else bends the book group rules? And has anyone started their children off young and developed a book group at home or in school? A good idea is to follow one of the national Book Awards, like our very own Coventry Inspiration Book Awards. Our pinterest board has links to a variety of national book awards.

3 thoughts on “Bad girls’ book group

  1. I set up a book group four years ago but now I never seem to read the books. This post has made me think about why I started it and what I miss by not reading the books. However, I do always attend and inevitably enjoy the gossip and wine! I don’t read the books because I am always reading books about education! Maybe I need to reassess my priorities…

Leave a Reply

